Customer story
ereQa
Free (20 invoices and 25 expenses a month), then Starter ₦5,000/month, Pro ₦12,000/month and Business ₦25,000/month, billed in naira. Yearly billing: ₦48,000, ₦115,200 and ₦240,000.
ereQa vs Zoho Books
Zoho Books is full accounting software with a free plan and naira prices. ereQa is narrower: invoices shared on WhatsApp with your bank details, expenses, bank statement upload and simple reports. This page sets out the prices and the differences, including where Zoho Books does more.
If you need double-entry books, a balance sheet, VAT returns, inventory or more than one user, Zoho Books does more and its paid plans cost less than ereQa’s. If what you need is to send invoices on WhatsApp, get paid by transfer, log expenses and hand clean records to an accountant, ereQa is simpler.
Side by side
| Feature | ereQa | Zoho Books |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | ||
| Prices in naira | ||
| Invoices on the free plan | 20 a month | Up to 1,000 a year |
| Expenses on the free plan | 25 a month | Up to 1,000 a year |
| Free plan eligibility | No revenue limit stated | Revenue up to USD 50,000 a financial year |
| People on the free plan | 1 login + 1 read-only accountant invite | 1 user + 1 accountant |
| Double-entry books, journals and a balance sheet | Free plan and up | |
| Bank reconciliation | Statement upload and AI categorisation (Starter and up); no automatic matching | Free plan and up; bank feeds from Standard |
| VAT returns | Standard and up | |
| e-Invoicing | Not listed | Standard and up |
| Recurring invoices | Starter and up | Free plan and up |
| Automatic payment reminders | Every plan | Free plan and up |
| Receipt scanning | Every plan | 50 scans a month on Free |
| Invoice shared as a WhatsApp link with your bank details and an “I’ve paid” button | Not stated on its pricing page | |
| Bank statement PDF upload with AI categorisation | Starter and up (2 a month) | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Multi-currency invoices | Starter and up | Professional and up |
| Inventory | Professional and up | |
| Fixed asset management | Premium and up | |
| Quotes | Free plan and up | |
| CRM or sales pipeline | Not on the Zoho Books pricing page | |
| Contracts with e-signature | Business plan | Not stated on its pricing page |
What it costs
Free (20 invoices and 25 expenses a month), then Starter ₦5,000/month, Pro ₦12,000/month and Business ₦25,000/month, billed in naira. Yearly billing: ₦48,000, ₦115,200 and ₦240,000.
Free for businesses with revenue up to USD 50,000 a year, then Standard ₦4,320 a month (₦3,600 a month billed yearly), Professional ₦9,120 (₦7,600), Premium ₦13,920 (₦11,600), per organisation, excluding local taxes. Checked 2 November 2026.
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly (per month) | Invoices |
|---|---|---|---|
| ereQa Free | ₦0 | ₦0 | 20 a month |
| ereQa Starter | ₦5,000/month | ₦4,000 (₦48,000 a year) | 60 a month |
| ereQa Pro | ₦12,000/month | ₦9,600 (₦115,200 a year) | 250 a month |
| ereQa Business | ₦25,000/month | ₦20,000 (₦240,000 a year) | 1000 a month |
| Zoho Books Free | ₦0 | ₦0 | Up to 1,000 a year |
| Zoho Books Standard | ₦4,320/month | ₦3,600 (₦43,200 a year) | Up to 5,000 a year |
| Zoho Books Professional | ₦9,120/month | ₦7,600 (₦91,200 a year) | Up to 10,000 a year |
| Zoho Books Premium | ₦13,920/month | ₦11,600 (₦139,200 a year) | Up to 25,000 a year |
| Zoho Books Elite | ₦61,920/month | ₦51,600 (₦619,200 a year) | Up to 100,000 a year |
| Zoho Books Ultimate | ₦119,520/month | ₦99,600 (₦1,195,200 a year) | Up to 100,000 a year |
The difference
Every ereQa invoice has a link you paste into WhatsApp. The client sees your bank details with a copy button and taps “I’ve paid” to tell you.
On Starter and up, upload a text-based PDF or CSV statement; ereQa reads every line, categorises it and pushes spending into your expenses. It does not match lines to invoices for you.
No chart of accounts or journals. If you do not want to keep double-entry books yourself, there is less to learn.
Invite your accountant (1 on Free) instead of sharing a password, and they export your records in the layout they use.
On Pro and Business, eQ AI writes a monthly summary with spending alerts, a forecast and four recommendations.
If you need a balance sheet, VAT returns, inventory or several users, Zoho Books includes them and its paid plans cost less per month than ereQa’s. We would rather say so.
Zoho Books is a complete accounting product, and in Nigeria it is priced in naira with a free plan. That makes it a different kind of competitor from QuickBooks or Xero, and the honest comparison is less about price and more about what you actually need.
ereQa is built around the way many Nigerian small businesses get paid: an invoice link sent on WhatsApp, with your bank details on it, and a client who pays by transfer and taps “I’ve paid”. On paid plans you can upload a bank statement and have every line read and categorised. There is no chart of accounts to set up and nothing to post.
The cost of that simplicity is real: no balance sheet, no VAT return, no inventory, no quotes, no CRM. If you or your accountant need those, Zoho Books (or another accounting package) is the right tool, and ereQa’s exports go into QuickBooks, Xero and Sage layouts on Pro and Business.
Zoho Books prices, plan contents and Free plan limits: zoho.com/en-ng/books/pricing, including its FAQ on invoice and expense limits and how long the Free plan is free, checked 2 November 2026. Zoho states its prices exclude local taxes. ereQa prices and limits: ereqa.com/pricing, read from the same configuration the site uses. Prices change; check both pages before you decide.
Questions
Zoho Books has a Free plan on its Nigeria pricing page (₦0) for businesses whose revenue for the financial year does not exceed USD 50,000, with up to 1,000 invoices and 1,000 expenses a year, one user plus one accountant, and email support. Checked 2 November 2026.
Free plan, no credit card required. Up and running in five minutes.